Conducting the 144th Installation since its charter was issued in 1870, the Davis Odd Fellows Lodge recently installed its officers for 2014 during an installation and awards dinner held at the historic Odd Fellows Hall in Downtown Davis. Sixty-five Odd Fellows and guests attended the dinner. The installation ceremony was conducted by two state officers of the Odd Fellows: Grand Master Rick Boyles and Grand Warden Dave Rosenberg, the latter also a member of the Davis Lodge.

Re-elected as Noble Grand of the Davis Lodge was Bob Schelen. “We had a great year in 2013 and I am humbled to be elected Noble Grand for this upcoming term,” said Schelen. “Davis Odd Fellows expanded our age-old charge to ‘visit the sick, relieve the distressed, educate the orphan and bury the dead’. We did so by putting a modern twist on the charge, working with current and emancipated foster children, distributing and packaging food for the Yolo County Food Bank, harvesting with Yolo County Food Bank Farmers, helping seniors with projects around their homes that they could not do. We did all this and much more, while having a great time and providing fun and respite for our members. I look forward to working on these projects and expanding our reach into the Davis and Yolo County community.”

Also re-elected to office and installed for 2014 are Vice Grand Lea Rosenberg, Secretary Alekka Fullerton, and Treasurer Penny Smith. Newly elected Financial Secretary Duff Devine was also installed.

Noble Grand Schelen appointed the following officers of the Lodge who were installed: Right Supporter of the Noble Grand Dave Reed, Left Supporter of the Noble Grand Bob Bockwinkel, Warden Doug Hatton, Chaplain Kerry Daane Loux, Conductor Dave Rosenberg, Right Scene Supporter Sharla Cheney, Left Scene Supporter Brian Sipp, Inside Guardian Debbie Friend, Outside Guardian Dennis Corcoran, Musician Mary Superak, Color Bearer Val Dolcini.

Vice Grand Lea Rosenberg appointed the following officers of the Lodge who were also installed: Right Supporter of the Vice Grand Diana Schmiegel and Left Supporter of the Vice Grand Robin Dewey.

In addition to the installation of elected and appointed officers, Noble Grand Schelen presented three major awards to Odd Fellows for notable achievements. The Member of the Year Award for 2013 went to husband and wife Juelie and Kurt Roggli, the Noble Grand’s Award went to Bob Bockwinkel, and the Spirit Award was presented to Cesar Morales. In addition, merit pins were awarded to Odd Fellows who contributed significantly to the progress of the Lodge in 2013 including: Lea Rosenberg, Dave Rosenberg, Dody Black, Sheryl Cambron, Dave Reed, Alekka Fullerton, Penny Smith, Renee Liston, Dennis Corcoran, Arun Sen, Debbie Friend, Chuck White, Sharla Cheney, Duff Devine, and Mary Superak.

The Davis Odd Fellows Lodge has been a fixture in Davis since 1870 and currently has 209 members, ranging in age from 17 to 90. It is a fraternal order open to men and women and focuses on community service, as well as social activities and fun projects for the members of the Lodge.

The Davis Odd Fellows sponsor and coordinate numerous community activities and projects including Breakfast with Santa, Breakfast with the Bunny, A Taste of Davis, the Picnic Day Pancake Breakfast, the DogtoberFest, and the Davis Classic Film Festival. In addition, the Odd Fellows help the community in numerous ways including support to foster families and recently emancipated foster children, helping seniors with projects in their homes, providing financial support and use of the Lodge to numerous community groups, Bingo for charitable and community organizations, free music for the community, among others. More information on the Davis Lodge can be found at .

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This