Canton Davis #7

Patriarchs Militant Davis CantonOn March 14, 2013, Davis was given dispensation to start a chapter of the Patriarchs Militant, and authorized to elect officers and operate a Canton.  We are now Canton Davis #7, Patriarchs Militant.

The Patriarchs Militant are the uniformed branch of this Independent Order of Odd Fellows (IOOF), one of the oldest and largest fraternal orders in the world today.  The Patriarchs Militant were established by the Sovereign Grand Lodge – the international governing body of Odd fellowship – back in 1885.  Patriarchs Militant are organized into Cantons, and the Cantons belong to Department Councils within a state or region.  Members of Patriarchs Militant are called Chevaliers and may wear semi-military uniforms.  Patriarchs Militant membership is open equally to men and women.

When one is initiated into the Odd Fellows, a new member obtains the Initiatory Degree.  Thereafter, that member may obtain three more degrees in an Odd Fellows Lodge (the Degrees of Friendship, Love, and Truth).  That person is then eligible to join an Encampment and obtain three more degrees (the Patriarchal Degree, the Golden Rule Degree, and the Royal Purple Degree).  Thereafter, the member may obtain the final and highest degree in Odd Fellowship by joining a Canton and obtaining the status of a Patriarch Militant.

The mottoes of Patriarchs Militant are in Latin and translate into “Universal Justice” and “Peace over War.”  Members of Patriarchs Militant strive to practice the classic military virtues of courage, honor, self-discipline, and comradeship at all times.

2024 Elected Officers of the Canton Davis #7

  • Captain – Sharla Cheney
  • Lieutenant – Larry Guenther
  • Ensign – Nan Klein
  • Clerk – Sharon Hale
  • Accountant – Lea Rosenberg

2024 Appointed Offices of the Canton Davis #7

  • Chaplain – Kevin Sitz
  • Banner Bearer – Sheryl Cambron
  • Guard – Matthew Elliot
  • Sentinel – Tony Pruitt
  • Picket – Joel Mandel

Captain (Ret.)

  • Matthew Elliot – 2023
  • Kevin Sitz – 2022
  • Tony Pruitt – 2021
  • James Bledsoe – 2020
  • Lea Rosenberg – 2019
  • Joel Mandel – 2018
  • Sheryl Cambron – 2017
  • Dennis Corcoran – 2016
  • Arun Sen – 2015
  • Dave Rosenberg – 2014

Battalion Commander – Dave Rosenberg

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This